September 7, 2011

North Carolina Tax Relief for Victims of Hurricane Irene

North Carolina Tax Relief for Victims of Hurricane Irene Tax & Business

The Department of Revenue will offer relief for taxpayers in the following counties declared a federal disaster area as a result of Hurricane Irene: Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Dare, Halifax, Hyde, Lenoir, Pamlico and Tyrrell.

The state relief is similar to that granted by the IRS and includes extended filing and payment dates for businesses or individuals that had a filing and/or payment requirements for any North Carolina tax due on or after August 25, and on or before October 31, as long as the return is filed and the tax paid by October 31, 2011. Taxpayers claiming the loss on an original or amended return should write “Hurricane Irene” in black ink at the top left of the form, so the return can be readily identified for special handling.

Any taxpayers taking advantage of this provision should include Form NC-5500 with the late payment or return. The form is available at the Department of Revenue website.

Taxpayers should continue to review the state website to determine if more counties are announced as designated federal disaster areas. Taxpayers with questions may also contact Taxpayer Assistance Division at 1-877-252-3052.

Related Service

Tax & Business